Baked Polenta Casserole

recipe_polentacas

Method:
I preheated my oven to 350 F. I then heated a skillet over medium heat with a teaspoon of oil and a teaspoon of butter and sauteed half a chopped onion with two cloves of minced garlic. After 8-10 minutes, I threw in a handful at a time of spinach and watched it wilt into the onion and garlic mixture. After 3-4 handfuls of spinach and seasoning the mixture with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes, I removed the pan from the heat and prepared my casserole dish. I sliced the polenta into 1/2″ rounds and placed them in a single layer on the bottom of a greased, round casserole dish. I then sprinkled the polenta with salt and pepper, spread the spinach mixture over it, and topped it with a layer of marinara sauce. I covered the casserole with foil and placed it in the oven for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, I removed the dish and topped it with parsley (chiffonaded) and goat cheese. I put the dish back in the oven, uncovered for 8 additional minutes.

Remove, cool, serve, and enjoy.This turned out to be a perfect, light and delicious lunch served with a fruit and walnut salad.

DSCN4996 DSCN4986DSCN4998

3 thoughts on “Baked Polenta Casserole

  1. Pingback: More Veggies Please… | Nat's Knack

  2. Pingback: Meatless Monday and How to Feel the World | Nat's Knack

Leave a Reply

