lasagna & cupcakes

Today I read a beautiful post, On Making and Effort to be Thankful for your Food, from one of my favorite websites The Kitchn.  It reminded me that cooking and eating should not always be about satisfying your every craving, but rather about being thankful and nourishing your body.  How often do we spend an extra five minutes on the internet in the morning instead of packing leftovers or making a quick lunch and later indulge in that gourmet sandwich from a nearby deli?  See a recipe we are dying to try, run out to the store and buy thirty dollars worth of new ingredients, and ignore the over-stocked refrigerator with milk, eggs, cheese and vegetables (that would have made a perfectly delicious quiche).  We live in a self-fulfilling, consumer driven society and it is often hard to break these habits.  I want to start making a conscious effort to stop and remember how fortunate I am, try to find small ways to cut back on waste and excess spending, and give back to others.

Speaking of giving and thanks, my Locavore Lasagna dinner would not have been possible without the generosity of my friends and my wonderful share from Rosebank Farms.  Kellen harvested a variety of beautiful lettuces from his garden ranging from bitter mustard greens and arugula to buttery, bibb lettuces, which I used to make the fall salad below.  Milena provided me with fresh herbs from her new garden project: rosemary, basil, and thyme, which I used to flavor the lasagna (recipe below).  Lastly, I used my weekly share of squash and eggplant for the grilled vegetables in the lasagna.

Recipes:

Squash and Eggplant “Lasagna”

Autumn Salad

Homemade Vanilla Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

