Breaking with bread

I feel like my life has been caught in a whirlwind these past few months. Between getting back from my five month stay in Thailand and Cambodia, readjusting to the American lifestyle while helping my parents move to a new city and new home, and now moving back to Charleston and diving into my senior year of college… I think it’s time I catch my breath. And that is just what I did these past few days. I allowed myself to slow everything down, worry about little, cook often, and just be. Though none grand, I have had a lot of realizations in my downtime and am feeling re-inspired and have faith in what’s to come…

One realization that has been overwhelmingly present is my feeling of gratitude.

I am grateful for my best friend Milena (you can find her beautiful blog here).
Grateful for my loving and always supportive family.
Grateful for my faith.
Grateful for my stability.
Grateful for my happiness.
Grateful for all my wonderful friends.
Grateful for random acts of kindness.
Grateful for countless blessings…

I realize these things in the silence of my kitchen; as I mindlessly chop vegetables, stir a pot of soup, and eat chocolate. I guess you could say I am a happy cook (at least as of lately).

Today I decided to make bread, for the first time! Since my return from Asia this summer, I have had to start eating strictly wheat and gluten-free foods.  Although my body is thanking me, it has not been easy eliminating this allergen from my diet.  Luckily, there are enough alternative flours and baked goods in the market to make being gluten-free bearable.  One thing I have not been able to find (until now) is a hearty multi-seed and grain bread.  Thanks to Bob’s Red Mill‘s dedication to making gluten-free flours and mixes, I was able to bake a delicious loaf of bread today that reminded me of some of my favorite German rye breads.  The bread came out perfect! I was a very happy gluten-free girl today.

Oh, and my CSA vegetables from Rosebank Farms really do put a smile on my face. Nerdy? Maybe, but the photos in this post capture my use of these beautiful, locally harvested and in-season vegetables.Roasted cherry tomatoes and roasted root vegetables with fresh herbs (carrots, turnips, sweet potato, onion, and garlic).Shaved summer squash and zucchini salad with a lemon, olive oil, and fresh mint dressing topped with crisp bacon and goat cheese. Harvest Tomato and Vegetable Soup (butter beans, green beans, zucchini, carrots, tomato, onion, garlic, celery, chili peppers, etc…)
Aside from our CSA vegetables, our good friend Kellen is a horticulturalist and generously shares his harvest with us from time to time. Like this colorful variety of peppers! I seriously put chili peppers in everything! I love added heat and spice. Thank you Kellen.And I am grateful for YOU. Thanks for reading!
xoxo, Nat

One thought on “Breaking with bread

Leave a Reply

