End-of-Summer Fish Tacos with Peach Salsa


Charleston weather seems to be unsure of itself lately; Summer or Fall?  We got a tease of some cooler, Fall weather last week but temperatures managed to rapidly climb back into the upper 80s this weekend and humidity returned in its full force.  Nonetheless, its the last week of September and October officially means Fall: pumpkin, cabbage, sweet potatoes, and kale!

As an ode to the “end” of Summer I decided to make one of the last batches of fresh peach salsa last week.  While I do love a tangy mango salsa, peaches are native to the Carolinas (and Texas) and as a self-proclaimed rule I choose LOCAL.

Cooking is truly therapeutic in my life.  There is nothing more peaceful than entering the silence of my kitchen after a long day.  I rarely allow music to infiltrate the kitchen.  For the first time all day I like to separate myself from outside noises, the constant tampering of keys at my computer or on my cell phone, and just be.  I gathered my ingredients from my fridge and smiled at the colorful array of produce sitting on my cutting board.  It is in these small moments that I remember why I love to cook.


Huge thanks to Lance for changing over my website from blogger to wordpress.  I cannot thank him enough for the time and energy put into transforming and improving Nat’s Knack.  Check out his work at http://lancelotlife.tumblr.com/.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Peach Salsa
Serves: 4 (2 tacos/person)

Ingredients:

1 peach, diced

1 avocado, diced

1 medium-sized tomato, diced

1 jalapeño, seeded and minced

Juice of 1 lime

¼ cup cilantro, chopped

¼ cup red onion, finely chopped

4 fish fillets (I use tilapia)

Salt and pepper

Corn or flour tortillas (8-10)

Sour cream (optional)

Hot sauce (optional)

 

Procedure:

Peach Salsa

Combine the first seven ingredients, adding salt and pepper to taste. Set aside to marinate or place in the fridge for later use.

Grilled Fish

Rinse the fillets and blot dry with paper towels.  Heat a large grill pan or skillet over medium heat and lightly grease with olive oil or butter.  Lightly salt and pepper both sides of the fish and grill for 3 minutes per side or until the meat is white and flaky.  Remove from the pan and let cool.  Meanwhile, place corn or white tortillas in a preheated oven (350 F) for 3-4 minutes, just to warm.  Prepare the tacos by filling each tortilla with ½ a fish fillet, salsa, and sour cream on top.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

